Alumni: Taking the Oath in a Pandemic

Meet some of ILP’s alumni who were determined to make change. They care about the greater good and have positioned themselves to hold public spaces and have committed their efforts to public service.

In March, April Olson (’06) was named the Chief Judge for the Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation in California. Congratulations, April!

Jasmine Blackwater-Nygren (’20) was appointed to represent District 7 of the Arizona State House of Representatives and is the youngest member of the House. Who better to conduct her swearing in than the first Native American woman federal judge and fellow ILP alum? Representative Blackwater-Nygren was sworn in by Judge Diane Humetewa (‘93) of the District of Arizona on Feb. 11.

On Jan. 8, Moon Valley Justice of the Peace Deborah Ann Begay (’10) took her oath of office, which was administered by Navajo Nation President Jonathan Nez.

She was surrounded by supportive friends and family, including ILP alum Chris Love (’05) who happily attended the swearing-in ceremony. Alumni supporting alumni, we love it! More on Begay’s win in the Arizona Republic article and her candid message to students.

In January, Brian Garcia (’20) was sworn in as president of Tempe Union School Board. Congratulations Brian!

Janet Bill (’20) was sworn into the State Bar of California on Jan. 21. Congratulations, Janet! 

In October 2020, Julianne Begay (’15) was sworn in as a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) for the 6th Judicial Advocate for children in dependency and neglect cases. Excellent advocacy, Julianne!